• 明星高考奇葩事杨幂总分第一 赵薇丢准考证(组图) 2019-07-02
  • 肩负促进和平与发展的时代重任 2019-07-02
  • 探秘海南高考评卷场 考生答题卡武警24小时值守 2019-06-28
  • “人民日报是我一生最尊敬和宝贵的朋友” 2019-06-28
  • 惊艳卢浮宫小牛电动发布新款电动车惊艳卢浮宫小牛电动发布新款电动车-手机行情 2019-06-23
  • 社区 —频道 春城壹网 七彩云南 一网天下 2019-06-15
  • 全国网络举报工作会议 2019-06-15
  • 珍贵!“国宝”林麝现身重庆金佛山 2019-06-11
  • 亚冠前瞻:恒大权健皆不容有失 两将伤情成上港争胜关键 2019-06-09
  • 端午节回归传统习俗 西安市民排队买艾草端午节艾叶-要闻 2019-06-09
  • 湖州唤醒“沉睡”的土地 2019-06-01
  • 在美中国留学生江玥被枪杀案宣判 罪犯获刑25年 2019-05-31
  • 日本大阪6.1级强震4死逾300伤 工厂及店铺恢复运营 2019-05-31
  • 台湾“裤子大王”:百姓三餐不济谈啥“台湾价值” 2019-05-23
  • 韩国釜山海滩变“垃圾场” 清洁工叫苦不堪 2019-05-23
  • Welcome to

    Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

     

    Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
    Old 14th March 2019, 16:54   #55341  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Oct 2012
    Posts: 5,661
    as i said to you before this option currently has no effect on what madVR outputs.

    12 bit is in general not on option maybe with DX13 maybe never.
    huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 14th March 2019, 17:03   #55342  |  Link
    Registered Developer
     
    Join Date: Mar 2010
    Location: Hamburg/Germany
    Posts: 9,737
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by huhn View Post
    12 bit is in general not on option maybe with DX13 maybe never.
    Introducing a new surface format doesn't really require anything. It could happen tomorrow. It would just need to be specified somewhere officially and implemented by the graphics drivers.
    But since 12-bit content doesn't really exist, or game rendering would want it, its doubtful anyone cares.
    __________________
    LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
    nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
    Old 14th March 2019, 17:46   #55343  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Oct 2012
    Posts: 5,661
    isn't that a little bit different for presentation surfaces?

    we need at least a windows update too didn't we?
    huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 14th March 2019, 17:57   #55344  |  Link
    Registered Developer
     
    Join Date: Mar 2010
    Location: Hamburg/Germany
    Posts: 9,737
    For optimal results, DWM would probably need to learn about it, not sure how dynamic it can use GPU compositing functions.
    __________________
    LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
    nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 14:03   #55345  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    tp4tissue's Avatar
     
    Join Date: May 2013
    Posts: 381
    Is there a way to switch to 12bit mode (nvidia) automatically when video launches ?

    Mpchc seems to only change resolution and refresh
    __________________
    Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
    tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 14:29   #55346  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: May 2018
    Posts: 219
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
    Is there a way to switch to 12bit mode (nvidia) automatically when video launches ?

    Mpchc seems to only change resolution and refresh
    The thing that works for me is using older drivers, creating a 23.976 custom resolution. Then select it and change it to 12bit, then it stays that way when the custom resolution is called up on Video start.

    https://imgur.com/a/v0xjNNB
    __________________
    Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"

    Last edited by madjock; 15th March 2019 at 14:32.
    madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 14:41   #55347  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Oct 2017
    Posts: 220
    Set 24Hz 12 bit in NCP. Then 60Hz 8 bit. When you play a 24Hz video, it will use 12 bit. If you use madVR to control refresh rates and resolution, it will auto switch desktop at 60Hz 8 bit and video at 24Hz 12 bit. Be aware the setting does not survive a reboot using any newer drivers. You have to reset it or use 385.28 which does retain the setting. 12 bit will most likely introduce banding and you are better off with 8 bit unless you have a rare true native 12 bit display. Most are 10 bit at best.
    __________________
    HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
    W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
    KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
    65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
    brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 15:28   #55348  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    tp4tissue's Avatar
     
    Join Date: May 2013
    Posts: 381
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by madjock View Post
    The thing that works for me is using older drivers, creating a 23.976 custom resolution. Then select it and change it to 12bit, then it stays that way when the custom resolution is called up on Video start.

    https://imgur.com/a/v0xjNNB
    So, I'm on 417.71 right now. It won't even let me select 12 bit for the custom resolution I created. Is it limited by the TV ?

    Because if I select the nvidia default 23hz 4k, it will let me switch between 8 bit and 12 bit rgb full
    __________________
    Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
    tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 15:33   #55349  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: May 2018
    Posts: 219
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
    So, I'm on 417.71 right now. It won't even let me select 12 bit for the custom resolution I created. Is it limited by the TV ?

    Because if I select the nvidia default 23hz 4k, it will let me switch between 8 bit and 12 bit rgb full
    No its limited by the drivers mostly, I think I did get it working with other drivers, but due to HDR metadata issues with others, and these work for mostly everything and I don't play games, then its the best solution for me. (385.28).

    Now what you actually get out of 12bit is another matter, but no banding that I can see on my setup.
    __________________
    Windows 10-1903 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 430.64 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
    madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 16:03   #55350  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Feb 2015
    Location: Bavaria
    Posts: 568
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
    Because if I select the nvidia default 23hz 4k, it will let me switch between 8 bit and 12 bit rgb full
    Do you use a HDMI 2.0 connection?

    EDIT: Sorry I didn't got it that both are 23Hz.
    Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 17:27   #55351  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Jul 2014
    Posts: 700
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
    So, I'm on 417.71 right now. It won't even let me select 12 bit for the custom resolution I created. Is it limited by the TV ?

    Because if I select the nvidia default 23hz 4k, it will let me switch between 8 bit and 12 bit rgb full
    You need to use CRU to create custom res that work at 12bits with recent drivers. Or use 385.28 if you want to use madVR's custom res at 8bits and 12bits.
    __________________
    Win10 Pro x64 b1809 MCE
    i7 [email protected] [email protected] EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 [email protected] 398.11 RGB Full 8bits
    MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.25PR2
    Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
    Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 21:25   #55352  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    fourbigkids's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Dec 2005
    Posts: 18
    Hi all. I have just bought my first projector, 2018's JVC DLA X7900 (as it is known here in Australia). It is yet to be installed but, in the meantime, I am upgrading my HTPC and installing MPC-BE with MadVR to ensure the best video quality on what will now be a much larger screen than I am used to. I have thousands of DVDs and blu-rays that I have ripped to a NAS - so I have many video files in 480p, 576p, 720p and 1080p. The JVC has a kind of 'faux' 4K called e-shift, which, as I understand it offsets 2 1080p frames to make up 4K. Is it best to have MadVR just upscale the lower resolution files to 1080p, and possibly save on processing power (and heat/fan noise), leaving the frame doubling to the JVC or get MadVR to take all files to 4K. Whatever I do will need to be 'set and forget' as my wife is only interested in turning the system on and pressing play - not fiddling about. :-)

    PC is Windows 10, Intel Core i5-8600, Gigabyte Z370N WIFI Motherboard, Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2666, with a Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2060 6GB Windforce OC Video Card.

    Appreciate your advice. Cheers, Allan

    Last edited by fourbigkids; 15th March 2019 at 22:34. Reason: To add PC details.
    fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 21:26   #55353  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Jan 2014
    Posts: 487
    I am using the latest 419.35 drivers and in Windows 1607 there is no issue with remembering madVR-set custom resolution, but in Windows 1809, it stops working after a reboot, even though it seems as if it was saved (at least in madVR settings)... I have to delete it, reset GPU, re-create it, and reset GPU after every reboot...
    __________________
    8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | RTX 2080 Ti @ 2100Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
    XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 23:04   #55354  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    tp4tissue's Avatar
     
    Join Date: May 2013
    Posts: 381
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by fourbigkids View Post
    Hi all. I have just bought my first projector, 2018's JVC DLA X7900 (as it is known here in Australia). It is yet to be installed but, in the meantime, I am upgrading my HTPC and installing MPC-BE with MadVR to ensure the best video quality on what will now be a much larger screen than I am used to. I have thousands of DVDs and blu-rays that I have ripped to a NAS - so I have many video files in 480p, 576p, 720p and 1080p. The JVC has a kind of 'faux' 4K called e-shift, which, as I understand it offsets 2 1080p frames to make up 4K. Is it best to have MadVR just upscale the lower resolution files to 1080p, and possibly save on processing power (and heat/fan noise), leaving the frame doubling to the JVC or get MadVR to take all files to 4K. Whatever I do will need to be 'set and forget' as my wife is only interested in turning the system on and pressing play - not fiddling about. :-)

    PC is Windows 10, Intel Core i5-8600, Gigabyte Z370N WIFI Motherboard, Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2666, with a Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2060 6GB Windforce OC Video Card.

    Appreciate your advice. Cheers, Allan

    Pixel shifting looks a little more blurry upclose, but from further back, it's not bad.

    You have to determine for yourself if pixel-shifting looks sharper at the distance you watch the movie.

    But if you downscale 4K, that's extra processing load, which may require lowering the NGU chroma setting.
    __________________
    Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
    tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 00:17   #55355  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    ryrynz's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Posts: 3,149
    You really did not need to quote his entire post. Since it was a simple answer you could've just said @fourbigkids and written your reply. Why are all ya'll so quote crazy?
    ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 03:20   #55356  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    fourbigkids's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Dec 2005
    Posts: 18
    Hi @tp4tissue

    As I understand it, you're suggesting that the JVC pixel shifting may be something we like or don't like depending on viewing distance (and probably screen size and throw distance I expect??). We'll be about 3m from a 96in screen and the throw distance is about 3.5m. Not big numbers. We'll have to check it out on installation. Thanks.

    However, I am not sure I understand the bit about "downscaling 4K". 50% of our viewing comprises old movies, many from the 40's and 50's ripped from DVDs, so in 480p, 576p and 720p. What do you think I should be upscaling those to with MadVR? Or does it all depend on whether I like pixel shifting or not??

    Cheers.

    Allan
    fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 06:27   #55357  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    ryrynz's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Posts: 3,149
    Hey Allen, since you're not displaying a true 4K video and the projector is also not displaying true 4K output, I think you'll find it's not worth the extra processing power to upscale large amounts with a demanding upscaler but you could quickly compare it and see how it looks. You may need to take screenshots to properly know what to look for. NGU standard and sharp should be your go to's depending on your sharpness set on the projector and done with post-processing within madVR.
    ryrynz is online now   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 09:31   #55358  |  Link
    RXP
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Aug 2002
    Posts: 20
    Does anyone know if the LG C6 is fine for 12 bit output or should I just leave it at 8 or 10 bit?
    RXP is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 11:14   #55359  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Oct 2012
    Location: Akron, OH
    Posts: 431
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
    I am using the latest 419.35 drivers and in Windows 1607 there is no issue with remembering madVR-set custom resolution, but in Windows 1809, it stops working after a reboot, even though it seems as if it was saved (at least in madVR settings)... I have to delete it, reset GPU, re-create it, and reset GPU after every reboot...
    Many of us have got around that problem by using the CRU utility to create custom resolutions, then using madVR to optimize them. CRU apparently adds the custom settings at the OS level rather than the GPU level which protects them from driver-level changes.
    jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 12:05   #55360  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    fourbigkids's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Dec 2005
    Posts: 18
    Thanks @ryrynz I'll give that a go. Just waiting on an installer to turn up when they say they intend to! :-)

    Cheers,

    Allan
    fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Tags
    direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling


    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:18.


    Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
    Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
  • 明星高考奇葩事杨幂总分第一 赵薇丢准考证(组图) 2019-07-02
  • 肩负促进和平与发展的时代重任 2019-07-02
  • 探秘海南高考评卷场 考生答题卡武警24小时值守 2019-06-28
  • “人民日报是我一生最尊敬和宝贵的朋友” 2019-06-28
  • 惊艳卢浮宫小牛电动发布新款电动车惊艳卢浮宫小牛电动发布新款电动车-手机行情 2019-06-23
  • 社区 —频道 春城壹网 七彩云南 一网天下 2019-06-15
  • 全国网络举报工作会议 2019-06-15
  • 珍贵!“国宝”林麝现身重庆金佛山 2019-06-11
  • 亚冠前瞻:恒大权健皆不容有失 两将伤情成上港争胜关键 2019-06-09
  • 端午节回归传统习俗 西安市民排队买艾草端午节艾叶-要闻 2019-06-09
  • 湖州唤醒“沉睡”的土地 2019-06-01
  • 在美中国留学生江玥被枪杀案宣判 罪犯获刑25年 2019-05-31
  • 日本大阪6.1级强震4死逾300伤 工厂及店铺恢复运营 2019-05-31
  • 台湾“裤子大王”:百姓三餐不济谈啥“台湾价值” 2019-05-23
  • 韩国釜山海滩变“垃圾场” 清洁工叫苦不堪 2019-05-23
  • 快乐飞艇是官网吗 17041期开奖号码 排球少年第三季免费 七星彩走势图爱彩 天天炫斗龙汐幻武 90win足球比分 巨人财富注册 ag电子俱乐部商场 厦门兴业银行信用卡 财富阶级在线客服 好运彩3投注河北 心动女主播彩金 欢乐斗地主版本大全 3d澳客网专家杀号 ag电子竞技俱乐部淘宝 fifa手游竞价的球员没了