• 阜阳网络达人“点赞”颍泉绿化提升专项工作 2019-04-23
  • 《国家人文历史》往期杂志汇总 2019-04-22
  • 一师一团土地确权登记颁证工作全面展开 2019-04-14
  • 德州扑克赌场披“俱乐部”外衣 打竞技旗号难掩赌博实质 2019-04-12
  • 自治区党委召开常委(扩大)会议 陈全国主持 2019-04-12
  • 17年来首次!塔利班组织宣布停火3天 与阿富汗民众自拍 2019-04-04
  • 2022年冬奥会筹备进行时 2019-04-03
  • 人家80年前就造航母,我们现在才造航母,基础不一样。 2019-04-03
  • 葡萄牙首都上演城市节狂欢 2019-04-01
  • RED EARTH红地球展现自我丝绒唇膏全新发布 2019-03-24
  • 龙船礼 有讲究 百岁龙 抖精神 2019-03-17
  • 新加坡航空将开通 全球最长商业航线 2019-03-17
  • 传说中的自由飞“翔” 当厕所被狂风吹上天 2019-03-12
  • 导游强迫交易获刑 曾辱骂威胁强迫游客消费上万元--旅游频道 2019-03-09
  • 北京正式推出租赁型职工集体宿舍 每间居住人数不超8人 2019-03-09
  • Welcome to

    Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

     

    Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

    Reply
     
    Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
    Old 14th March 2019, 16:54   #55341  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Oct 2012
    Posts: 5,454
    as i said to you before this option currently has no effect on what madVR outputs.

    12 bit is in general not on option maybe with DX13 maybe never.
    huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 14th March 2019, 17:03   #55342  |  Link
    Registered Developer
     
    Join Date: Mar 2010
    Location: Hamburg/Germany
    Posts: 9,662
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by huhn View Post
    12 bit is in general not on option maybe with DX13 maybe never.
    Introducing a new surface format doesn't really require anything. It could happen tomorrow. It would just need to be specified somewhere officially and implemented by the graphics drivers.
    But since 12-bit content doesn't really exist, or game rendering would want it, its doubtful anyone cares.
    __________________
    LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
    nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
    Old 14th March 2019, 17:46   #55343  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Oct 2012
    Posts: 5,454
    isn't that a little bit different for presentation surfaces?

    we need at least a windows update too didn't we?
    huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 14th March 2019, 17:57   #55344  |  Link
    Registered Developer
     
    Join Date: Mar 2010
    Location: Hamburg/Germany
    Posts: 9,662
    For optimal results, DWM would probably need to learn about it, not sure how dynamic it can use GPU compositing functions.
    __________________
    LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
    nevcairiel is online now   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 14:03   #55345  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    tp4tissue's Avatar
     
    Join Date: May 2013
    Posts: 300
    Is there a way to switch to 12bit mode (nvidia) automatically when video launches ?

    Mpchc seems to only change resolution and refresh
    __________________
    Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
    tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 14:29   #55346  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: May 2018
    Posts: 202
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
    Is there a way to switch to 12bit mode (nvidia) automatically when video launches ?

    Mpchc seems to only change resolution and refresh
    The thing that works for me is using older drivers, creating a 23.976 custom resolution. Then select it and change it to 12bit, then it stays that way when the custom resolution is called up on Video start.

    https://imgur.com/a/v0xjNNB
    __________________
    Windows 10-1809 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 385.28 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"

    Last edited by madjock; 15th March 2019 at 14:32.
    madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 14:41   #55347  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Oct 2017
    Posts: 215
    Set 24Hz 12 bit in NCP. Then 60Hz 8 bit. When you play a 24Hz video, it will use 12 bit. If you use madVR to control refresh rates and resolution, it will auto switch desktop at 60Hz 8 bit and video at 24Hz 12 bit. Be aware the setting does not survive a reboot using any newer drivers. You have to reset it or use 385.28 which does retain the setting. 12 bit will most likely introduce banding and you are better off with 8 bit unless you have a rare true native 12 bit display. Most are 10 bit at best.
    __________________
    HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
    W10v1809 X5690 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 8bit Desktop @60Hz 8,10,12bit @Matched Refresh Rates
    KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD DVDFab
    65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
    brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 15:28   #55348  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    tp4tissue's Avatar
     
    Join Date: May 2013
    Posts: 300
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by madjock View Post
    The thing that works for me is using older drivers, creating a 23.976 custom resolution. Then select it and change it to 12bit, then it stays that way when the custom resolution is called up on Video start.

    https://imgur.com/a/v0xjNNB
    So, I'm on 417.71 right now. It won't even let me select 12 bit for the custom resolution I created. Is it limited by the TV ?

    Because if I select the nvidia default 23hz 4k, it will let me switch between 8 bit and 12 bit rgb full
    __________________
    Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
    tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 15:33   #55349  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: May 2018
    Posts: 202
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
    So, I'm on 417.71 right now. It won't even let me select 12 bit for the custom resolution I created. Is it limited by the TV ?

    Because if I select the nvidia default 23hz 4k, it will let me switch between 8 bit and 12 bit rgb full
    No its limited by the drivers mostly, I think I did get it working with other drivers, but due to HDR metadata issues with others, and these work for mostly everything and I don't play games, then its the best solution for me. (385.28).

    Now what you actually get out of 12bit is another matter, but no banding that I can see on my setup.
    __________________
    Windows 10-1809 | i5-3570k | GTX 1070 Windforce OC Rev2 8GB : 385.28 | Yamaha RX-V377 | Philips 65PUS6703 - 65"
    madjock is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 16:03   #55350  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Feb 2015
    Location: Bavaria
    Posts: 494
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
    Because if I select the nvidia default 23hz 4k, it will let me switch between 8 bit and 12 bit rgb full
    Do you use a HDMI 2.0 connection?

    EDIT: Sorry I didn't got it that both are 23Hz.
    Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 17:27   #55351  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Jul 2014
    Posts: 659
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by tp4tissue View Post
    So, I'm on 417.71 right now. It won't even let me select 12 bit for the custom resolution I created. Is it limited by the TV ?

    Because if I select the nvidia default 23hz 4k, it will let me switch between 8 bit and 12 bit rgb full
    You need to use CRU to create custom res that work at 12bits with recent drivers. Or use 385.28 if you want to use madVR's custom res at 8bits and 12bits.
    __________________
    Win10 Pro x64 b1806 MCE
    i7 [email protected] [email protected] EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2 [email protected] 430.39 RGB Full 8bits
    MPC-BE/LAV/MadVR/jRiver/MyMovies V5.24
    Denon X8500H>HD Fury Maestro>JVC RS2000
    Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 21:25   #55352  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    fourbigkids's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Dec 2005
    Posts: 18
    Hi all. I have just bought my first projector, 2018's JVC DLA X7900 (as it is known here in Australia). It is yet to be installed but, in the meantime, I am upgrading my HTPC and installing MPC-BE with MadVR to ensure the best video quality on what will now be a much larger screen than I am used to. I have thousands of DVDs and blu-rays that I have ripped to a NAS - so I have many video files in 480p, 576p, 720p and 1080p. The JVC has a kind of 'faux' 4K called e-shift, which, as I understand it offsets 2 1080p frames to make up 4K. Is it best to have MadVR just upscale the lower resolution files to 1080p, and possibly save on processing power (and heat/fan noise), leaving the frame doubling to the JVC or get MadVR to take all files to 4K. Whatever I do will need to be 'set and forget' as my wife is only interested in turning the system on and pressing play - not fiddling about. :-)

    PC is Windows 10, Intel Core i5-8600, Gigabyte Z370N WIFI Motherboard, Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2666, with a Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2060 6GB Windforce OC Video Card.

    Appreciate your advice. Cheers, Allan

    Last edited by fourbigkids; 15th March 2019 at 22:34. Reason: To add PC details.
    fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 21:26   #55353  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Jan 2014
    Posts: 483
    I am using the latest 419.35 drivers and in Windows 1607 there is no issue with remembering madVR-set custom resolution, but in Windows 1809, it stops working after a reboot, even though it seems as if it was saved (at least in madVR settings)... I have to delete it, reset GPU, re-create it, and reset GPU after every reboot...
    __________________
    8700K @ 5Ghz | ASUS Z370 Hero X | Corsair 16GB @ 3200Mhz | GTX 1080 Ti @ 2025Mhz | Samsung 970 NVMe 250GB | WD Black 2TB | Corsair AX 850W | LG 32GK850G-B @ 165Hz | Xonar DGX | Windows 10 LTSC 1809
    XMonarchY is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 15th March 2019, 23:04   #55354  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    tp4tissue's Avatar
     
    Join Date: May 2013
    Posts: 300
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by fourbigkids View Post
    Hi all. I have just bought my first projector, 2018's JVC DLA X7900 (as it is known here in Australia). It is yet to be installed but, in the meantime, I am upgrading my HTPC and installing MPC-BE with MadVR to ensure the best video quality on what will now be a much larger screen than I am used to. I have thousands of DVDs and blu-rays that I have ripped to a NAS - so I have many video files in 480p, 576p, 720p and 1080p. The JVC has a kind of 'faux' 4K called e-shift, which, as I understand it offsets 2 1080p frames to make up 4K. Is it best to have MadVR just upscale the lower resolution files to 1080p, and possibly save on processing power (and heat/fan noise), leaving the frame doubling to the JVC or get MadVR to take all files to 4K. Whatever I do will need to be 'set and forget' as my wife is only interested in turning the system on and pressing play - not fiddling about. :-)

    PC is Windows 10, Intel Core i5-8600, Gigabyte Z370N WIFI Motherboard, Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2666, with a Gigabyte GeForce RTX 2060 6GB Windforce OC Video Card.

    Appreciate your advice. Cheers, Allan

    Pixel shifting looks a little more blurry upclose, but from further back, it's not bad.

    You have to determine for yourself if pixel-shifting looks sharper at the distance you watch the movie.

    But if you downscale 4K, that's extra processing load, which may require lowering the NGU chroma setting.
    __________________
    Ghetto | 2500k 5Ghz
    tp4tissue is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 00:17   #55355  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    ryrynz's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Posts: 3,059
    You really did not need to quote his entire post. Since it was a simple answer you could've just said @fourbigkids and written your reply. Why are all ya'll so quote crazy?
    ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 03:20   #55356  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    fourbigkids's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Dec 2005
    Posts: 18
    Hi @tp4tissue

    As I understand it, you're suggesting that the JVC pixel shifting may be something we like or don't like depending on viewing distance (and probably screen size and throw distance I expect??). We'll be about 3m from a 96in screen and the throw distance is about 3.5m. Not big numbers. We'll have to check it out on installation. Thanks.

    However, I am not sure I understand the bit about "downscaling 4K". 50% of our viewing comprises old movies, many from the 40's and 50's ripped from DVDs, so in 480p, 576p and 720p. What do you think I should be upscaling those to with MadVR? Or does it all depend on whether I like pixel shifting or not??

    Cheers.

    Allan
    fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 06:27   #55357  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    ryrynz's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Mar 2009
    Posts: 3,059
    Hey Allen, since you're not displaying a true 4K video and the projector is also not displaying true 4K output, I think you'll find it's not worth the extra processing power to upscale large amounts with a demanding upscaler but you could quickly compare it and see how it looks. You may need to take screenshots to properly know what to look for. NGU standard and sharp should be your go to's depending on your sharpness set on the projector and done with post-processing within madVR.
    ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 09:31   #55358  |  Link
    RXP
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Aug 2002
    Posts: 19
    Does anyone know if the LG C6 is fine for 12 bit output or should I just leave it at 8 or 10 bit?
    RXP is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 11:14   #55359  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    Join Date: Oct 2012
    Location: Akron, OH in the U.S.A.
    Posts: 427
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by XMonarchY View Post
    I am using the latest 419.35 drivers and in Windows 1607 there is no issue with remembering madVR-set custom resolution, but in Windows 1809, it stops working after a reboot, even though it seems as if it was saved (at least in madVR settings)... I have to delete it, reset GPU, re-create it, and reset GPU after every reboot...
    Many of us have got around that problem by using the CRU utility to create custom resolutions, then using madVR to optimize them. CRU apparently adds the custom settings at the OS level rather than the GPU level which protects them from driver-level changes.
    jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
    Old 16th March 2019, 12:05   #55360  |  Link
    Registered User
     
    fourbigkids's Avatar
     
    Join Date: Dec 2005
    Posts: 18
    Thanks @ryrynz I'll give that a go. Just waiting on an installer to turn up when they say they intend to! :-)

    Cheers,

    Allan
    fourbigkids is offline   Reply With Quote
    Reply

    Tags
    direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling


    Posting Rules
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off

    Forum Jump


    All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:06.


    Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
    Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
  • 阜阳网络达人“点赞”颍泉绿化提升专项工作 2019-04-23
  • 《国家人文历史》往期杂志汇总 2019-04-22
  • 一师一团土地确权登记颁证工作全面展开 2019-04-14
  • 德州扑克赌场披“俱乐部”外衣 打竞技旗号难掩赌博实质 2019-04-12
  • 自治区党委召开常委(扩大)会议 陈全国主持 2019-04-12
  • 17年来首次!塔利班组织宣布停火3天 与阿富汗民众自拍 2019-04-04
  • 2022年冬奥会筹备进行时 2019-04-03
  • 人家80年前就造航母,我们现在才造航母,基础不一样。 2019-04-03
  • 葡萄牙首都上演城市节狂欢 2019-04-01
  • RED EARTH红地球展现自我丝绒唇膏全新发布 2019-03-24
  • 龙船礼 有讲究 百岁龙 抖精神 2019-03-17
  • 新加坡航空将开通 全球最长商业航线 2019-03-17
  • 传说中的自由飞“翔” 当厕所被狂风吹上天 2019-03-12
  • 导游强迫交易获刑 曾辱骂威胁强迫游客消费上万元--旅游频道 2019-03-09
  • 北京正式推出租赁型职工集体宿舍 每间居住人数不超8人 2019-03-09
  • 2009年七乐彩走势图 新疆时时彩走势图 新宝3娱乐平台 北京快乐8开奖结果 总进球 大乐透专家预测 排列五走势图预测 f老时时彩杀号定胆 北京pk10高手杀号法 四川时时彩11选5开奖结果走势图 彩票投注站选址 电子捕鱼器 重庆时时彩存在操控 竞彩足球比分360彩票网 玩分分彩输了2万多 南粤风采36选7